Business Taxes Entreprenuers New Businesses

Mecklenburg Privilege License Renewals are out

If you operate business in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, you are required to have a Privilege License (similar to a Business License). Anyone doing business in Charlotte/Mecklenburg, whether home-based or at another location; whether it is a sole proprietorship, partnership, LLC, or corporation; full-time or part-time; regardless of size, unless the business is exempted by the North Carolina Department of Revenue and/or Federal Law.

Privilege license fees range from $50 to $10,000 and the fees are based on revenue from the prior year and the classification of the business. The license runs from July 1 through June 30 each year. Renewals were sent to all license holders within the past two weeks. If you did not receive a renewal, you may wish to contact the City-County Tax Collectors office to find out why.

View or Print the License Application
View the Classification Codes for Privilege Licenses

For more information, please visit the Mecklenburg county website.